top of page

Group

Public·17 members
Isaac White
Isaac White

Reporter


Wall Street Journal reporter Evan Gershkovich is escorted by Russian officers from the Lefortovsky court to a bus, in Moscow, Thursday. Russia's Federal Security Service said its agents detained Gershkovich in the Ural Mountains city of Yekaterinburg, accusing him of trying to obtain classified information. Alexander Zemlianichenko/AP hide caption




Reporter



A Moscow court formally arrested the American reporter on charges of espionage and ordered him to be held until May 29 pending an investigation, according to Russian media reports, which said Gershkovich pleaded not guilty.


But White House National Security Council spokesman John Kirby said he did not know of U.S. government efforts to tell news organizations to remove their reporters from Russia. "We understand that you all have an important job to do," he said in a briefing Thursday.


The FSB security services said they had "halted the illegal activities of U.S. citizen Evan Gershkovich," saying The Wall Street Journal reporter was "suspected of spying in the interests of the American government."


The Wall Street Journal said it was "deeply concerned for the safety" of its reporter, adding in a later statement that it "vehemently denies the allegations from the FSB and seeks the immediate release of our trusted and dedicated reporter, Evan Gershkovich. We stand in solidarity with Evan and his family."


Before joining The Wall Street Journal, Gershkovich worked for AFP in Moscow. A fluent Russian speaker, he was previously a reporter based in the Russian capital for The Moscow Times, an English-language news website. His family immigrated to the United States from Russia when he was a child.


Although anyone can report child and dependent adult abuse and are encouraged to do so, mandatory reporters are required by law to make a report of suspected abuse within 24 hours of becoming aware of the concern(s).


A: Legislation clarifies that all valid Mandatory Reporter Training certificates issued prior to July 1, 2019 remain effective for five years. After July 1, 2019, the curriculum provided by DHS is the only training available for mandatory reporters in Iowa to maintain their certification.


Q: If I am already certified, can I just take the 1-hour recertification training?A: No. Every mandatory reporter in Iowa is required to take the full 2-hour training. 1-hour recertification training will only be available to those who have previously completed the full 2-hour training curriculum provided by DHS and whose certification has not expired.


A. If you took the training before July 1, 2019, DHS will not have a copy of your certificate. You will need to request a copy from the employer or agency who provided the training. If you took the DHS training between July 1, 2019 and June 19, 2020, an actual certificate is not available. Rather, a transcript certifying your completion of the mandatory reporter training is available on the Iowa DHS Learning Management System. To access the system, click on this link or copy and paste the following site into your browser: .


A: Iowa Code 232.69(1) and Iowa Code 235B.3(2) define mandatory reporters in the state of Iowa. Please reference Iowa Code and speak to your employer to determine if your employment falls in the categories outlined. If you continue to have questions whether your employment qualifies you as a mandatory reporter, please seek legal advice from a legal professional. The Department of Human Services is not able to provide legal advice.


Q: Is the certification I acquired prior to July 1, 2019 valid?A: Any certification acquired prior to July 1, 2019 from a provider approved by the Iowa Department of Public Health (IDPH) is valid for five years. See this list for all IDPH mandatory reporter training approval/provider numbers.


Q: Does Mandatory Reporter Training taken in another state meet the training requirements in Iowa?A: No. Any mandatory reporter who practices in Iowa is required by law to take the Iowa Mandatory Reporter Training. States differ in how they define abuse and any mandatory reporter must be knowledgeable about Iowa Code to practice in Iowa.


Q: What is the timeframe to complete Mandatory Reporter Training?A: Mandatory reporters for child abuse and mandatory reporters for dependent adult abuse have the same timeframe. Every individual required to report suspected abuse as defined in Iowa Code 232.69(1) and Iowa Code 235B.3(2) must complete 2 hours of mandatory reporter training within their first six months of employment or self-employment and one hour of additional training every three years (unless otherwise specified by federal regulations). If your employment qualifies you as a mandatory reporter for both child abuse and dependent adult abuse, you are required to take both trainings and maintain certification for both curricula.


Q: After I complete the initial 2-hour training, how often am I required to recertify, and how long is the recertification trainingA: Mandatory reporters must take the 1-hour recertification training within 3 years of the initial 2-hour training, and every 3 years thereafter, in order to remain in compliance with the law.


Journalists can be broadcast, print, advertising, and public relations personnel, and, depending on the form of journalism, the term journalist may also include various categories of individuals as per the roles they play in the process. This includes reporters, correspondents, citizen journalists, editors, editorial-writers, columnists, and visual journalists, such as photojournalists (journalists who use the medium of photography).


A reporter is a type of journalist who researches, writes and reports on information in order to present using sources. This may entail conducting interviews, information-gathering and/or writing articles. Reporters may split their time between working in a newsroom, or from home, and going out to witness events or interviewing people. Reporters may be assigned a specific beat or area of coverage.


In 2018, the United States Department of Labor's Occupational Outlook Handbook reported that employment for the category, "reporters, correspondents and broadcast news analysts," will decline 9 percent between 2016 and 2026.[3]


Apart from physical harm, journalists are harmed psychologically. This applies especially to war reporters, but their editorial offices at home often do not know how to deal appropriately with the reporters they expose to danger. Hence, a systematic and sustainable way of psychological support for traumatized journalists is strongly needed. However, only little and fragmented support programs exist so far.[8]


Effective November 30, 2021, official court reporters are normally available in felony criminal cases and juvenile matters during regular court hours. Official court reporters are not normally available in civil matters, family law matters (with the exception of Family Support Division [FSD] matters and Contempt Hearings), or in probate matters.


Where court reporters are not available, parties may privately arrange and pay for an official court reporter pro tempore. Please note, the court is prohibited by law from allowing remote court reporting for any court proceeding. (See Government Code 69959.)


A party who has been granted a waiver of court fees and costs may request the services of an official court reporter, free of charge, for a proceeding for which a reporter is not normally available and for which electronic recording is not provided. The request should be made using the Request for Court Reporter by a Party with a Fee Waiver form (SDSC Form #ADM-379) and must be filed with the clerk at least 10 days before the proceeding, or at the time the proceeding is scheduled if less than 10 days away. Failure to comply with this request procedure may result in the court being unable to provide a court reporter or a continuance of the hearing. Party(ies) to the case who do not qualify for a waiver of court fees and costs will be responsible for a pro rata share of the fees.


Note: Unless otherwise required by law, the court is generally not obligated to provide court reporter transcripts free of charge to a party who has been granted a waiver of court fees and costs. (See Rohnert Park v. Superior Court (1983) 146 Cal.App.3d 420; Mehdi v. Superior Court (1989) 213 Cal.App.3d 1198.) Assistance may be available through the Transcript Reimbursement Fund. Further information is available on the California Court Reporters Board's website.


If court reporter fees were paid for a hearing scheduled on or after November 30, 2021, for which a court reporter will no longer be provided, the party should complete a Request for Payment of Trust Funds/Refund (SDSC Form # CIV-180) and submit it in person or by mail to the business office in the division where the case is assigned.


The list of materials below includes further information, including but not limited to, the court reporter policy, details on how to arrange and pay for an official court reporter pro tempore, and the form a party with a fee waiver should use to request a court reporter free of charge.


The Court-Approved List of Official Reporters Pro Tempore is available below. The names are randomized nightly and the lists are separated by location in which the reporter is willing to work. The "All" list is a compilation of all court-approved official reporters pro tempore. See the materials above, including the Policy for Court-Approved List of Official Reporters Pro Tempore, for additional information.


Mandated reporters are certain persons who are identified in the Code of Virginia as having a legal responsibility to report suspected abuse, neglect and exploitation. The purpose of mandated reporting is to identify suspected abused and neglected children or vulnerable adults as soon as possible so that they can be protected from further harm. Child Protective Services (CPS) and Adult Protective Services (APS) cannot act until a report is made. Mandated reporters play a critical role in preventing any future harm to children and vulnerable adults. Whether required by law or not, If you suspect that a child or an adult (who is over age 60 or incapacitated adults 18 years and older) is being abused, neglected, or exploited, you should immediately report your concerns to the local department of social services in your community. A list of local departments of social services, addresses and phone numbers is available on our Find Your Local Department page. After normal business hours, weekends and holidays, reports can be made to the state hotlines: APS - 888-832-3858 or CPS - 800-552-7096. A call to a hotline is not an accusation, it is a request for the helping process to begin. 041b061a72


About

Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...

Members

bottom of page